Liangzhong Yao#

Liangzhong Yao
Membership Number:6150
Membership type:FOREIGN
Main Country of Residence:CHINA

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2018 - present Dean (Director) of Smart Grid Res. Institute, Professor in the Sch. of Elec. Eng. and Auto., Wuhan University, China
  • 2012 - 2018 Vice President, Honorary Chief Engineer and Res. Professor of China Electric Power Research Institute(CEPRI), China
  • 2013 - 2017 Board Director (SGCC/CEPRI representative) of R&D NESTER ( SGCC & REN Joint Research Center), Lisbon, Portugal
  • 2014 - 2017 Board Member (CEPRI representative) of DII (Desert Industry Initiative ) Desert Energy, Munich, Germany
  • 2011 - 2012 Vice President and Research Professor of State Grid Electric Power Research Institute (SGEPRI), China
  • 2004 - 2011 Manager (Head) of Smart Grid and Renewable Energy Department, Alstom Grid Research & Technology Centre, UK
  • 1999 - 2004 Senior Power System Analyst of Network Consulting Department, ABB UK Ltd, UK
  • 1995 - 1999 Postdoctoral Research Associate in the Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Manchester, UK
  • 1993 - 1995 Postdoctoral Research Fellow and Associate Research Professor, Tsinghua University, China
  • 1983 - 1987 Lecturer in the Electrical Engineering Department at Xinjiang University, China

Fields of Scholarship
  • Large scale energy storage grid integration
  • Planning and operation of transmission and distribution systems with high share of renewable energies
  • Renewable energy grid integration and control
  • Modelling and simulation of AC-DC power systems with high share of renewable energy sources interfaced by power electronics converters
  • HVDC grid control and protection
  • Smart grid
  • AC-DC hybrid power system operation and control
  • Power electronics converter control
  • Renewable energy power system dispatch and control under uncertainties

Honours and Awards
  • 2022 Fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) , USA
  • 2010 Fellow of Institution of Engineering and Technology-IET (former Institution of Electrical Engineers–IEE), UK
  • 2022 Vice Chair of Electric Power Professional Committee, China Energy Society (2022 -)
  • 2022 Chair of AC-DC Hybrid Distribution and Consumption Professional Committee, China Electrotechnical Society (2021 -)
  • 2019 Chair of IEEE PES Renewable Systems Integration Coordinating Committee-China Satellite Committee (2019 -)
  • 2017 Convenor of International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) Technical Committee (TC) 8-Joint Working Group10 (2017 -)
  • 2014 Chair of IEC TC122 “UHV AC Transmission Systems” (2014-2020)
  • 2013 Secretary of IEC TC8/Subcommittee (SC) 8A “Grid Integration of Renewable Energy Generation”(2013)
  • 2012 Convenor of IEC Technical Specification (TS) 62786 “Distributed energy resources connection with the grid”(2012-2017)
  • 2020 and 2017 China Science and Technology Innovation Awards, Awarded by China Electricity Council
  • 2020 and 2012 Shanghai Science and Technology Progress Awards, Awarded by Shanghai Municipal Government of China
  • 2020 Hubei Science and Technology Progress Award, Awarded by Hubei Provincial Government of China
  • 2019 Science and Technology Award, Awarded by China Electrotechnical Society
  • 2019 Science and Technology Progress Award, Awarded by Beijing Municipal Government of China
  • 2019 Power Industry Chint Science and Technology Award, Awarded by China Electrotechnical Society
  • 2019, 2018 and 2015 SGCC Tec. Standard, Science and Tec. Progress, and Spec. Science Achievement Awards, Awarded by SGCC
  • 2017 IEC 1906 Standard Award, Awarded by IEC
  • 2016 CEPRI Science and Technology Progress Award, Awarded by CEPRI
  • 2010 IET Innovation Award (in Power & Energy), Awarded by IET

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-6) was last changed on Thursday, 23. June 2022, 23:02 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by