Jaakko Tuomilehto#

Membership Number:6301
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:FINLAND

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2012 Professor Emeritus of Public Health, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • 2016 - 2018 Chief Scientific Officer, Dasman Diabetes Institute, Kuwait
  • 2011 - 2016 Professor of Vascular Prevention, Danube-University Krems, Austria
  • 2000 - 2011 Professor of Public Health, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • 1987 - 2000 Research Professor, National Public Health Institute, Helsinki, Finland
  • 1986 - 1987 Professor of Community Medicine, University of Kuopio, Finland
  • 1983 - 1986 Head, WHO MONICA Project Data Centre, National Public Health Institute, Helsinki, Finland
  • 1980 - 1982 Medical Officer on Cardiovascular and Metabolic Diseases, WHO, Western Pacific Regional Office, Manila, Philippines
  • 1978 - 1980 Senior researcher, National Public Health Institute, Epidemiology Unit, Kuopio, Finland
  • 1972 - 1987 Researcher and Principal Investigator, the North Karelia Project, Kuopio, Finland

Fields of Scholarship
  • Public health
  • Hypertension
  • Preventive medicine
  • Diabetes
  • Lifestyle
  • Cardiovascular disease
  • Epidemiology

Honours and Awards
  • 1996 Prof. M. Viswanathan DRC Silver Jubilee Oration Award in Diabetes, Madras, India
  • 1998 Kelly West Award for Outstanding Achievement in Epidemiology, American Diabetes Association, Chicago, USA
  • 2000 Peter Bennett Diabetes Epidemiology Award, International Diabetes Epidemiology Group, Acapulco, Mexico
  • 2001 Hans Chiari Memorial Lecture Award, Austrian Stroke Research Society, Krems, Austria
  • 2002 UNESCO – Hellmut Mehnert Award on prevention of diabetes, Dresden, Germany
  • 2002 Castelli Pedroli Prize – Camillo Golgi Lecture, European Association of the Study of Diabetes, Budapest, Hungary
  • 2005 Frederick H. Epstein Memorial Lecture Award, Am. Heart Association, Washington, USA
  • 2008 Epidemiologist of the year, Finnish Epidemiological Society, Tampere, Finland
  • 2009 Laureate of the Khwarizmi International Award, Tehran, Iran
  • 2010 Great Sheik Hamdan International Award in Diabetes Research, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • 2011 Geoffrey Rose Award on Population Sciences, European Society of Cardiology, Paris, France
  • 2011 Folksam Prize in Epidemiological Research, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden
  • 2012 Evert van Ballegooie Memorial Lecture Award, Zwolle, the Netherlands
  • 2014 Harold Rifkin Award for Distinguished International Service in the Cause of Diabetes, American Diabetes Association, San Francisco, USA
  • 2015 Menarini Award/Joseph J Hoet Memorial Lecture Award, World Congress on the Prevention of Diabetes and Its Complications, Cartagena, Colombia
  • 2016 GB Morgagni Prize and Gold Medal on Metabolic Disease Research, University of Padua, Italy
  • 2017 David Kritchevsky Memorial Lecture Award, Council on Lifestyle and Cardiometabolic Health, American Heart Association, Portland, USA
  • 2018 Claude Bernard Award and Medal, European Association of the Study of Diabetes, Berlin, Germany
  • 2020 Prof. Donald McLarthy Diabetes Research Award, East African Diabetes Study Group, Entebbe, Uganda
  • 2021 European Academy of Sciences and Letters

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-5) was last changed on Tuesday, 26. July 2022, 14:31 by System
  • operated by