Jens Timmermann - Biography#

Jens Timmermann is the Professor of Moral Philosophy in the University of St Andrews. He was educated at Göttingen University and at Balliol College, Oxford. Prior to his initial appointment at St Andrews as a lecturer, he held a Junior Research Fellowship at Keble College, Oxford.

Timmermann has published widely on Kant’s moral, legal and political philosophy. He is the editor and translator of several of Kant’s writings, e.g. the "Groundwork of the Metaphysics of Morals" (German–English edition based on Mary Gregor’s translation, CUP, 2011) and the "Doctrine of Virtue" (German–English edition based on Mary Gregor’s translation, with Jeanine Grenberg, CUP, forthcoming). He is also the editor of Kant's "Critique of Practical Reason" for new standard Academy edition of Kant's work the Berlin–Brandenburg Academy of Sciences. A monograph on Kant’s theory of practical irrationality ("Kant’s Will at the Crossroads", OUP) was published in August 2022; a monograph on the Kant–Constant controversy ("Kant's 'Supposed Right to Lie'", CUP) will be published in 2023. He is the recipient of the Junior International Kant Prize, awarded at the 11th International Kant Congress in Pisa in 2010.

Prof. Timmermann has held visiting positions in Europe, the USA and Asia, e.g. at the Universities of Pavia and Göttingen, at the Zurich Ethics Centre, at the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study, at Clare Hall, Cambridge, at the University of Münster, at Keio University, and the Universities of Vienna and Luxembourg, at Brandeis University and at the Greifswald Institute for Advanced Study. Pre-Brexit, he regularly taught at universities all over Europe as an Erasmus exchange lecturer. He is a member of the editorial board of the Philosophical Quarterly, Studi Kantiani, SATS, Archiv für Geschichte der Philosophie, the Journal of Value Inquiry, the Kant Yearbook and Kantovsky Sbornik; of the board of referees of Kant-Studien; and of the international advisory board of Diametros.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-4) was last changed on Monday, 8. May 2023, 21:01 by System
  • operated by