Philippe J. Sansonetti#

Membership Number:2076
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:FRANCE

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2008-Professor and head of the Unité de Pathogénie Microbienne Moléculaire and Unité INSERM 786 at the Pasteur Institute of Paris.
  • Chair of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases at the Collège de France
  • 2000-2010 HHMI international research scholar

Fields of Scholarship
  • Immunology
  • Microbiology

Honours and Awards
  • 2012-2017 Senior Foreign Member of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • 2012 Grand Prix de l’INSERM
  • 2012 Commandeur de l’Ordre National du Mérite
  • 2012 Elected foreign member to the US National Academy of Sciences
  • 2011 President of the European Academy of Microbiology
  • 2011 Awarded (with Prof. Pascale Cossart) the coordination of a Laboratory of Excellence (Integrative Biology of Emerging Infectious Diseases) in the framework of the national program “Investments for the future”
  • 2011 Duquesne Prize
  • 2010 Award of the coordination of a major European Union grant (STOPENTERICS) for the development of novel vaccines against Shigella and Enterotoxigenic Escherichia coli
  • 2010 Member of the European Academy of Microbiology
  • 2009 GSK Foreign scientist of the Year Award, American Society for Microbiology & American Academy of Microbiology
  • 2008-2013 Awarded European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grant (HOMEOEPITH)
  • 2008 Elected Member to the Swedish Academy of Biotechnology
  • 2007 Elected external member to the Max Planck Society
  • 2006 Elected member of the American Academy of Art and Sciences *1993 Officier de l’Ordre National du Mérite
  • 2002 Elected correspondent to the French Academy of Medicine
  • 2002 Elected member to the Deutsche Akademie der Natursforscher Leopoldina
  • 2001 Elected member to the French Academy of Sciences
  • 2001 Invited speaker to the Jubilee Symposium « Beyond Genes », 100th Anniversary of the Nobel Prize, Stockholm
  • 2000 AGF-Athena Prize, French Academy of Sciences, Institut de France
  • 2000 André Lwoff Medal For outstanding service to Microbiology in Europe, Federation of European Microbiology Societies
  • 2000-2005 (renewed 2005-2010) Howard Hughes Medical Institute Scholar
  • 1997 Robert Koch Prize, Germany
  • 1994 Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur
  • 1994 Louis-Jeantet Prize of Medicine, Switzerland
  • 1994 Elected member to the American Academy of Microbiology
  • 1993 EMBO member
  • 1990 Grand Prix of the French Academy of Medicine
  • 1989 Prix Jacques Monod for Excellence in Molecular Biology

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-5) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Mikisz Joanna
  • operated by