Bart Lambrecht#

Membership Number:6671
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:BELGIUM

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2002 - 2005 Staff Pulmonary Physician at Erasmus MC, The Netherlands
  • 2002 - 2007 Chief, Laboratory of Pulmonary Medicine, Rotterdam, The Netherlands
  • 2006 - present Professor of Medicine, Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands
  • 2007 - present Professor of Pulmonary Medicine, Ghent University, Belgium
  • 2007 - present Chief, Laboratory of Immunoregulation and Mucosal Immunology, Ghent University, Belgium
  • 2012 - present Department Director, VIB-UGent-Center for Inflammation Research
  • 2019 Visiting Professor, UCSF, Department of Medicine, San Francisco

Fields of Scholarship
  • COV-AID trial addressing the impact of early interleukin-1 and -6 blockade in COVID-19
  • Activation of dendritic cells and macrophages to bridge innate and adaptive immunity in the lung
  • Inflammatory response to allergen inhalation or exacerbations by respiratory virus
  • Traditional immunological functions of APCs
  • New immunomodulators in COVID-19
  • Role of antigen-presenting in asthma

Honours and Awards
  • 2022 Paul Ehrlich Award for Experimental Research 2022, awarded by EAACI in Prague
  • 2022 Elected as Regular Member of the Royal Academy of Medicine, Belgium
  • 2021 Eugenio Morelli Foundation International Prize for studies in the field of pulmonology (awarded by the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome)
  • 2021 K. Frank Austen, MD FAAAAI & Albert L. Sheffer, MD FAAAAI Lectureship at the 2021 AAAAI Virtual Annual Meeting
  • 2020 FWO excellence prize; Joseph Maisin Excellence Prize in fundamental biomedical sciences, 5 yearly prize, awarded by H.R.M. The king of Belgium.
  • 2018-2023 ERC Advanced grant, ERC, Asthma Crystal Clear, principal PI, 2.000 000 euro
  • 2017 European Respiratory Society Asthma Gold Medal (lifetime excellence award in asthma research)
  • 2016 Honorary Fellow of the European Respiratory Society: the FERS award recognizes lifetime excellence and contributions to research, education and clinical leadership in respiratory medicine
  • 2014 The Francqui prize (highest scientific award across all disciplines in Belgium), awarded by HRM The King of Belgium.
  • 2012-2016 ERC Consolidator Grant, ERC, Role of endoplasmic reticulum stress in dendritic cells and immune mediated lung diseases, Principal PI, 1 500 000 euro
  • 2013 The Ariëns Award, Dutch Pharmacological Society (highest honor in pharmacology in The Netherlands
  • 2013 The Karel Lodewijck Verleysen Prize, Academy of Medicine, Brussels, Belgium
  • 2010 The European Respiratory Society ‘Maurizio Vignola’ Research Award, Barcelona, Spain
  • 2009 The Sabin Prize for Research on Vaccine Development, Benelux award, Belgium
  • 2008 The Antoine Faes Foundation Prize, Subject class Clinical Immunology, Brussels, Belgium
  • 2008 The Inbev-Baillet Latour Prize for Clinical Research in Belgium (highest clinical prize <45y in Belgium)
  • 2008 The Flemish League against Cancer First endowed chair for Cancer Research, Belgium
  • 2005 The European Respiratory Society ‘Romain Pauwels’ Research Award, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 2005 Elected to “De Jonge Academie” of the Royal Dutch Academy for Arts and Sciences (KNAW)
  • 2004 The Pharmacia Allergy Research Foundation Award (highest award in allergy worldwide)
  • 2000 The Boehringer Ingelheim Award for Respiratory Medicine, Pulmonary Society Belgium
  • 1998 Shering Plough Respiratory 2000 International Young Investigator Award, New York, USA
  • 1998 European Respiratory Society Annual Allergy and Immunology award, ERS meeting, Geneva, Switzerland.
  • 1997 Horlait Dapsens Fellowship for extended study abroad.
  • 1996 The GSK junior and senior Lecturer award (Belgian Society for Pulmonary Medicine)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-6) was last changed on Thursday, 28. September 2023, 10:00 by System
  • operated by